The Murray Files

Discussing Andy Murray's quest for a grand slam title.

So long and thanks for all the fish

leave a comment »

We never really understood Roger Federer.

He played not just for our amusement and gratification, but also to try and teach us mere mortals some important lessons.  All we (well not me personally) gave him was round after round of applause and handsome endorsements.

He’s leaving the (tennis) world shortly and I wanted to assess what Mr One Dimensional actually did in the game.

He turned pro in 1998 but didn’t actually win his first grand slam until 2003! What was he doing for 5 years, that’s just sloppy as far as I’m concerned – McEnroe won his first grand slam 2 years after turning pro:

A true Great (not like some modern day pretenders)

16 Grand Slam wins.  Big deal.

I could have beaten some of the players he beat in those finals.  Aside from Nadal, I don’t think it’s anything to be amazingly proud of.

Think of the players from McEnroe’s era:

Bjorg, Connors, Lendl, Vilas

Players with True Grit.

So, goodbye Federer, and when conventional words fail, I’ll end on a song:

Give me my money back, give me my money back you B*tch

I want my money back

And don’t forget

To give me back my black t-shirt.

Au revoir

Leave a Reply

