The Murray Files

Discussing Andy Murray's quest for a grand slam title.

It’s almost time for the Australian Open…

leave a comment »

It’s a new year, a new dawn, a new day if you will, and the tennis season for 2011 is already underway.

It’s only 6 short days until the aussie open starts, and for my money this is going to be one of the closest tournaments in years.

As the tournament progresses I’m going to be giving my expert opinion and analysis of all the action as it unfolds.

So, the big question:

Who will win this year?

The mens draw:

I don’t think you can look past Andy Murray.  He’s got the drive, the motivation, the drop shot, ‘that’ backhand and a I think he’ll do it this time around.

The women’s draw:

This is a little bit of long shot some may say, but I’ll be placing a small bet on Heather Watson.

She is a student of the Nick Bollettieri academy, and has been making steady progress on the WTA tour.  I think it is about time that an unseeded player came through qualifying and won. Further more, I hope she has to beat the danish princess, williams, sharapova and henin along the way.  The more scalps the better.

So, join me on the 18th, when I’ll be giving my verdict on the first round of matches.  It certainly promises to be, a lot of fun.

6 Days to go world…

Written by The Murray Files

11/01/2011 at 8:31 pm

Leave a Reply

