The Murray Files

Discussing Andy Murray's quest for a grand slam title.

Novak Djokovic v Rafael Nadal

leave a comment »

As a freelance reporter, I’m not under the same obligations that those Journalists who work for the big newspapers are.  Good news for me, as it would bore me to tears having to watch week in, week out  Federer, Nadal and Djokovic hammering every opponent in their path.

I like watching the big matches, but for me, the joy of tennis is watching the unknown players, seeing raw talent emerge and exciting personalities come to the fore.

That said, I’ve had to haul my ass down to Miami to watch Djokovic and Nadal.  The reason?  Well, let’s just say it involves a night out in Falkirk that got out of hand, and a favour I owe to a publicist.

So, here I am in Miami.  It’s too hot.  There’s no wind. I’ve had to sit on a plane for eight hours.  The plane was empty practically so that was depressing too.  Bottom line is I couldn’t care less about seeing this match, but I’ll go and watch it anyway.  One of the stewardesses on the plane told me about a restaurant called “Larry’s Still Smiling bar and grill”, so i’m going to go and get a few pints on the go there,maybe order a bit of lunch and dinner, and then I’ll assess my options.

As for the match.  Probably Djokovic will win.  I don’t really care.  See you all next time.

The greatest dish in the world

Leave a Reply

