The Murray Files

Discussing Andy Murray's quest for a grand slam title.

Interview with Marion Bartoli – Part 2

leave a comment »

I caught up with my favourite French belle at the Heartbreak and Hound restaurant in Marseille.

It took me about 14 hours to get there because of flight delays.  In the end I had to slum it on a coach sitting next to a man named Bernard who had some rather interesting ideas regarding UFO’s and evolution; and who every 15 minutes kept blurting out the words:

“Where’s my monkey? Has anyone seen my monkey?”

The blue coast is one of the most spectacular places on earth and for my money there’s nowhere else on the planet that I would rather sit and enjoy a can or beer and watch the sunset.

Marion was running late (again) so I ordered a pitcher of bud and watched the beautiful sunset.  I considered writing some poetry, but thought better of it when I remembered how pretentious that would be.

Marion eventually rolled in 35 minutes late.

Hi Marion, it’s lovely to see you again

Hi

I know things were a bit frosty between us last time, so thanks for me meeting me again

S’fine

Right.  So, you’re doing great at the french this year, do you think you can go all the way

don’t know

I hope you can. You show all females out there that you don’t have to be a super fit athlete to get to the top.

Uh-huh

I just..

Eh

Sorry, did you say…

Wine

What?

Where’s my wine?

Marion, are you alright?

Yes

Right, so…

Let’s order some brie

Fine.  Marion, my offer to help is still on the table, you know I could make you great.

No

But Marion, you’re being silly

No

Right, that’s it.  We’re through, you can forget your chances of winning at Rolland Garros, I predict a quarter final exit.  How do you like that Marion? Mmm?

At this point I terminated the interview.  Marion is starting to get on my nerves. I love her Frenchness, but sometimes she can be a real pain in the arse.

I picked up the bill again, 90 euros. What a rip off.  I’m going back to Falkirk.

Leave a Reply

