The Murray Files

Discussing Andy Murray's quest for a grand slam title.

What’s wrong with Hip Hop in the 90’s?

leave a comment »

As DJ Shadow astutely pointed out:

It’s the money.

A lot of you may remember that in the mid 90’s I released two very successful hip hop singles.   My first single “Don’t forget my vibe” debuted at number 3 and stayed inside the top forty for 12 consecutive weeks.  But it was my second single “I didn’t find the groove, the groove found me” that cemented my place in music’s hall of fame.

That single got to number 1 and stayed there for 5 weeks.  I was already very rich from my tennis coaching, but the money I got from the hip hop stuff took me into the elite.

I caught up with former Republica lead singer, and all round good person Saffron to discuss my illustrious career.

We went to the “We only serve pork here, pork house” in Dover, England.  I was disappointed to learn that they only sold pork.

Hi Saffron

Hi Alex

I must say you look even lovelier in person that in your music videos

That’s very sweet of you.

Enough about you, let’s talk about me

Ok

Just how good do you think my songs were?

I think ultimately your songs represented hope for a generation.

I agree

Furthermore, I think your songs were truly the greatest works ever.

That’s great.

Do you remember that night we partied at the Lambada room in the Dorset hotel?

Yeah, 1996 wasn’t it?

Yep, I think that was the greatest night of my life.

Mmm, I’ve had better.

We enjoyed Pork with apple sauce for our main, and pork cake for pudding.

Drop dead gorgeous!

Written by The Murray Files

29/07/2011 at 8:41 am

Leave a Reply

